MONUSCO – Senior Leaders of the Mission

Last update on: 13 September 2020

Information on MONUSCO’s Leadership can be found at

Special Representative of the Secretary-General (SRSG):  Leila Zerrougui (Algeria)

Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-General (DSRSG), for Protection and Operations: David Gressly (United States)

Deputy Special Representative ad interim of the Secretary-General: David McLachlan-Karr (Australia)

Force Commander: Lieutenant General Ricardo Augusto Ferreira Costa Neves (Brazil)


BENI – Mr. Omar Aboud

BUKAVU – Mr. Soro Karna

BUNIA – Ms. Cecilia Piazza

GOMA – Mr. Julius Fondong

KALEMIE – Mr. Jacob Mogeni

KANANGA – Ms. Sophie Stecher 

KINDU – Mr. Tankoane Boubacar

UVIRA – Mr. Abdourahamane GANDA

BUTEMBO – Mr. Guirane N’Diaye
Leila Zerrougui, the Special Representative of the Secretary-General in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, arrives in Fataki, Ituri Province, following deadly attacks on the populace by armed elements. 1 April 2018. © MONUSCO/Michael Ali

These products are the results of academic research and intended for general information and awareness only. They include the best information publicly available at the time of publication. Routine efforts are made to update the materials; however, readers are encouraged to check the specific mission sites at or